ny daylight pencil ny daylight

I’ve been to New York a lot but never as The Nerdy Sewist. Meaning, I’ve never visited the Big Apple with my crafting shoes on. As you might imagine, you could probably spend your life in New York without seeing all the delightful nooks and crannies related to textiles.

I was in New York for work, but I spent an extra day in the city to spend some time with my cousin Vanessa. She was blessedly patient and agreed to come with me to Purl Soho.

Vanessa at Purl SohoIn case you’re new to the online sewing world, Purl Soho is a New York-based shop with an online presence and one of the sweetest, most colorful and inspiring blogs around, called The Purl Bee. I especially recommend it if you’re a double threat: a knitter and a sewer. Check it out!

So, I admit it, I did more than a little swoon when I saw Purl Soho from across the block…

Purl Soho from down the streetI’m also a total sucker for the awesome architecture in New York. I love America’s old cities!

Eventually, we made it to the front door:

purl sohoAnd inside… (squee!!!)

inside at purl sohoIt is a much smaller shop than I imagined. Their online presence is impressive, considering their actual size. The space is especially heavenly for anyone who loves yarn.

yarn at purl sohoAnd, of course, there’s fabric. They have a wide selection of Liberty of London prints, way, waaaay out of my price range. Also, they carry quilting cottons and sell bundles of their own fat quarters. I ended up finding a bundle with some fabric I’ve been craving for awhile…

stuff…as well as a set of embroidery patterns and a cross stitch iPhone case for the 5 (which I’ve wanted but didn’t know existed yet!). I won’t share the final price tag, but I do have to warn you: you’re not going to find a lot of deals here, if any. It’s quite pricey. But so cozy, warm and just fun because… well… it’s PURL SOHO, people!!!

~ Kristina

