At the Sewing Summit, I learned how to make metal frame purses. It is one of the most satisfying projects I’ve ever sewn. It is also easily variable, based not only on what frame and fabric you choose but also the purse shape and size, which is incredibly simple to change on your own. Read on for where to buy supplies, tutorials to follow along, and a few other creative ideas for metal frames.

Here is the purse I made at Sewing Summit:

Here is why I call this “how I got over my fear of paisley;” I brought two fat quarters from my stash for this project, including this paisley, which I thought was pretty on the shelf but ended up being too busy to use in anything. Here, I fussy-cutted to feature my favorite part of the pattern on both sides, and it turned out to be the perfect print for a little purse.

Kelly of Kelby Sews taught the class. She was very generous and held a third class for, oh, about 30 of us who didn’t make it into her other two classes. All you need for this project are two fat quarters of fabric, a metal frame (this is an 8-inch frame) and Gutterman glue. I purchased my extra supplies from a shop that Kelly suggested, called While Baby Naps on Etsy. I have also heard good things about UHandbag, for a variety of bag-making supplies.

I’m going to make a bunch of purses as Christmas presents, modifying the shape and size, sewing in a pocket and creating a flat bottom. Again, this is such an easy project – you can easily change it! I also like the idea of turning these into eyeglasses cases, particularly using some of the really cute eyeglasses fabric out there right now.

It’s easy. It’s fun. It’s a perfect gift, or you can make some adorable purses for yourself. So get started already!!!

I hand-picked a few tutorials – and a video from Martha Stewart – with some tips on how to make your own pattern, regardless of the size of the frame, and sew your unique little metal frame purse:

Moda Bake Shop’s Pretty Little Framed Purses

Cricket’s Metal Frame Purse Tutorial

Video: The Martha Stewart Show: Fabric Clutch Purse

~ Kristina

