Tags

Hey, I thought this was a sewing blog?! It is, but I’m also writing a bit about DIY’ing my wedding. Want to know why? Click here. 

What a memorable weekend. I didn’t believe in that “the wedding day is the best day of your life” nonsense, but I promise you, it was close to it. It is amazing to be surrounded by family and friends. And all at the same time, in the same room? That almost never happens. It is a great day, your wedding. I promise you!

We had a small, low-budget, handmade wedding. Besides the DIY details I already wrote about, I also made my own hairpiece, using blue peacock-like feathers, which matched our “wedding color” of TARDIS blue:

Wedding hair and hairpieceThe hairpiece was easy to make, and I may put together a tutorial later — even though there’s almost no sewing involved; it’s all glue. But this is the project that made me stop rolling my eyes at glue. The final product is so cute!

Fabric flower bouquetAlso handmade: my fabric flower bouquet. I’ve written a tutorial for the flowers, and I can’t share it here because it is going to be published as part of a “Top 10” wedding sewing projects feature in Sew News next summer! Squee!

DIY wedding cake pinwheels TARDIS cake topperLast but not least, here is a photo of our cake table, with the pinwheel decorations and the TARDIS cake topper (which ended up being a table accessory because it was too big for our cake).

I truly thought I had already written how to DIY your own Doctor Who TARDIS cake topper, but I can’t find the link. So, here are the details. The bride and groom are a set called “Race to the Altar,” which you can purchase online at That’s My Topper. I bought the TARDIS from Think Geek, which unfortunately doesn’t seem to sell it anymore! It’s called a “Doctor Who Flight Control TARDIS,” (I linked to some Google stores, sorry if the link is broken by the time you get to it!) and it’s doors open up so the bride and groom can run in, a la the Season 6 finale, “The Big Bang.”

No coat and tails at our wedding, but it was pretty darn fun. There was dancing and lots of good times. I feel blessed that we had such a memorable weekend, surrounded by family and friends!

~ Kristina