Hey, I thought this was a sewing blog?! It is, but I’m also writing a bit about DIY’ing my wedding. Want to know why? Click here. 

We’re having an intimate wedding with a casual reception. Besides small floral arrangements on the tables (with unassigned seats), I wanted some pops of color here and there. I didn’t want to spend a lot of extra money. So, pinwheels!

First, I bought transparent glass vases at Michael’s for about $3 apiece. I painted the interior with Martha Stewart’s Summer Haze blue paint. I followed a couple tutorials to paint these, but it’s really a no-brainer. All you need is some lead time, so the paint can cure.

Tip: don’t start this project a day or even a week before you want to use the vases, especially if you need to put water in them!

And, I recommend getting at least 3 bottles of paint per vase (these Martha Stewart paints come in very small, 2 ounce bottles!), since you’ll need at least three coats for an opaque look. I also actually painted the inside of these vases with a brush; I tried a swirl method but it didn’t work for me.

Then, the pinwheels. I bought the textured stock of solid paper at Michael’s, for a dollar apiece. Our one accent color for the wedding is royal blue (TARDIS blue, to be exact), so I grabbed royal blue paper and ivory as well.

Tip: be sure you match your whites with whites and ivories with ivory. My dress is ivory, so I am avoiding all pure white in my decoration.

Then, I grabbed Martha Stewart’s pinwheel template and tutorial.

Pinwheels are so easy and fun! My only regret is that I didn’t find two-sided paper, ie paper with a solid color on one side and a pattern on the other. Stripes or dots would have be a nice contrast to the blue!

Next, I had to figure out how to arrange these pinwheels in the vase. I used floral foam (also from Michael’s) and cut pieces to fit inside the bottom of each vase:

Each of the pinwheels is on a different length dowel, to vary the height of each pop of color. They’re sitting in the floral foam at an equal height.

I made four of these vase-pinwheel arrangements, and they’re going to dot the cake table in lieu of more flowers. I’m excited for their unique, colorful and fun tone. I hope to post a photo of the decor, and the complete cake table, after the wedding (which is really, really soon!)!

~ Kristina

