I’m celebrating my 1-year Blogiversary! Join the fun and follow a week full of posts about sewing folks who have inspired my last year – and giveaways associated with every one! Thanks for visiting; the contests closed on August 18 at midnight.

Earlier this week, I celebrated my favorite local quilt shop, and today I celebrate my favorite online store. Even if you have the most fantastic local fabric store ever (and I would argue that I do!), you have to find your home online too. That store for me is the Fat Quarter Shop.

I first learned of Fat Quarter Shop when I won a gift certificate on the Twitter chat #talknt. One purchase and I was hooked. Now, I realize that’s the whole point of sponsored giveaways (LOL), but it wasn’t just the free fabric that I loved.  Fat Quarter Shop’s service is unbeatable and the shipping is so speedy that you won’t believe it comes all the way from Texas and not someplace down the block. Seriously. It arrives that fast. Here’s a pic of the tidy little packaging it comes in:

The store has an awesome assortment of fun novelty fabrics that fit my nerdy theme. Among them, the Andover fabric robot line, which I featured on “Nerd is the Word” earlier this year.

I think there’s a fine line between carrying novelty fabrics that are FUN, versus novelty fabrics that are cheesy, and FQS does a great job of that.

Last but certainly not least, FQS also has all kinds of sewing inspiration on the site. The store was partially to blame for my involvement in the Tangerine Tango Quilt Challenge earlier this year, since it bundled fat quarters in similar orange colors for purchase. Before that challenge, I would not have used orange in a piece, but the FQS bundle took the headache out of purchasing a color I didn’t love without having to make choices of exactly which orange to pick or exactly what pattern to choose (and, incidentally, now I adore orange for all projects!).

So the last giveaway for my Blogiversary is a $50 gift certificate to FQS. Beware, free fabric from this place will get you hooked!

I do not have blog sponsors and have accepted no money from FQS (other than that first gift card I won!), so again, all my recommendations this week are based solely on my experience. However, when I contacted Kimberly and her team about the giveaway, she did offer to give me the gift certificate FREE, which is an amazing honor for my little blog. So thank you to them, and good luck to all of you who are eligible to win!

This contest is open until Saturday, August 18, 2012, at midnight MST. You must comment to win. One comment per person, please. I would love it if you Tweet about the giveaway and follow me on Facebook, too!

~ Kristina

