I’m celebrating my 1-year Blogiversary! Join the fun and follow a week full of posts about sewing folks who have inspired my last year – and contests associated with every one! Thanks for visiting; the contests closed on August 18 at midnight. 

How did you learn to quilt?

A lot of you luckily had quilting passed down in your family. Perhaps you learned from your mom (or dad) or your grandma.

Though my Danish great-grandfather was a tailor, and my Washington, DC-resident great-grandmother sewed her children’s clothes, the quilting gene wasn’t passed down in my family.

I knew I wanted to learn to quilt after making a couple of mug rugs and loving the beauty created by piecing different shapes, patterns and colors of fabric together.

To me, quilting is like poetry. Not unlike writing poetry, quilting can be done by anyone. But I wanted to learn the art – and unfortunately I had nowhere to turn.

That’s when I found Craftsy’s online “Quilting Quickly” class with Jenny Doan of Missouri Star Quilt Company.

Jenny is a terrific instructor, even via video, and she teaches you how to make several quick and easy traditional blocks from precut fabric. With her help, I made my first patchwork baby quilt:

I like Craftsy for a number of reasons: it’s accessibility, regardless of where you live; you can pause, skip chapters, or move on depending on your personal speed of learning; plus there’s something nice about learning with a personal instructor, who even answers questions in the chat area.

Now, I’m obsessed with quilting, though I still consider myself a novice. I believe it is an art form, and I want to grow as an artist. I am going to start teaching Intro to Quilting at Fabric Bliss this fall, and I can’t wait to instruct a new group of sewists in patchwork, simple quilting and binding. Craftsy helped me on my way, and now I hope it can help one of you lucky readers too! I’m giving away one free Craftsy class to the winner of today’s contest.

Here’s how to enter: Head over to my Facebook page & give me a “Like,” then drop back here & comment with the story of how you learned to quilt! You must comment on this post to be eligible to win.

I do not have blog sponsors, so I all my recommendations this week come solely from me and my experience. I will just mention that Craftsy is based in Denver, and I like a local business, so there’s that!

No purchase necessary. Odds of winning depends on the number of entries. Eligibility dependent on where Craftsy is available. The blogger assumes no responsibility whatsoever for the contest or its outcomes. The contest opens on Wednesday, August 15, at 6am MST and closes on Saturday, August 18 at midnight in the same time zone.

~ Kristina

