Hey, I thought this was a sewing blog?! It is, but I’m also writing a bit about DIY’ing my wedding. Want to know why? Click here. 

Remember how I bought vintage postcards, hand stamped them, and used them as reply cards with my wedding invitations?

Well, almost everyone mailed them back, and we love these old postcards so much that we had to somehow integrate them into the wedding. So, I made them part of our guest book. This is such an easy idea for personalizing your wedding, and it’s inexpensive too — it cost me less than $50 to make a keepsake we’ll remember forever!

HOW TO MAKE A CUSTOMIZED WEDDING GUEST BOOK

Supplies:

Semikolon Bound Linen Photo Book

Stamp ink & a decorative stamp block

Adhesive photo corners

When you pick a photo book, I recommend finding one with acid free photo mounting board or other heavier-weight pages. An important consideration for your book: how many guests do you have? Do you want just one guest to write per page? Or can multiple guests share a page? Since we’re having such a small wedding, this 40-page book is perfectly suited for the task!

You can pick up stamps and ink at any crafting store. They are often on sale, and if not, be sure to bring your 40% off coupons. You’ll want to get a discount on these supplies; border-style stamps run about $7 and up in price. There are a variety of borders to choose from; here are a few examples (the first is the one I used):

There are also plenty of wedding-themed stamp sets, if that’s what you prefer. I may use these in our photo album:

I kept my stamping simple, with just one flourish per page. I alternated stamps between the top corner and the bottom corner of the page, just to mix it up. Then I used photo corners to display the vintage postcards on the opposite corner of the page. I’m very excited that it has a photo album feel, and very soon, our wedding guests will hand-write messages in those big blank spaces!

One last idea: keep an instant camera at the guest book table and ask your friends and family to take a shot and place it in the book next to their message. I found a refurbished Polaroid (one of the new kinds, not the retro one) for $35 on Amazon. It’s a bit of a splurge for our budget wedding, but since we can’t afford a photo booth, I wanted some way to visually capture impromptu moments that night!

~ Kristina

