I’m in the final stages of finishing my first pieced, full-sized (well, baby-sized) quilt. Since I’m giving this to my niece for her christening, I decided to label the piece before binding. I’ve looked into labels online before, searched Etsy, did a Google query. But I haven’t been able to find a label worth the cost of buying personalized quilt labels in bulk. I wanted to make my own.

So I turned to Twitter to ask for some help, and that’s how I found Jaybird Quilts’ digest of quilt label do-it-yourself tutorials. The list is at the very end of her post, and it’s not coming up on the first or second page of Google’s search.* So I’m linking here in hopes it’ll bump up and other newbies will find this fantastic list more easily in the future.

I love the idea of making your own labels on Spoonflower, and that’s what I’m going to do next! I didn’t have enough time to do it for this quilt (the christening is in a week!) so I used the method from P.S. I Quilt, and here’s the result (with my niece’s last name blocked out for privacy). My one addition to this method: I pinked the edges, hoping it reduces fraying.

~ Kristina

*Really basic SEO (search engine optimization) tip: linking back to websites/blogs from your own page gives them a “bump” on Google.

