Well ladies and gents, I finished my first competition quilt, aptly named “Lobster Claw” for the plant that inspired it (left).

I quilted some very simple diagonal lines to represent rays of sun, since the “Heliconia caribaea” is a tropical plant:

Lobster Claw detail

And I decided to finish off the mini with binding made of Jennifer Paganelli’s West Indies line, to echo the green stalks behind the lobster claw in the photo.

Lobster Claw detail

It’s far from perfect, but it’s my first ever a) competition quilt and b) original quilt design, so it feels like a huge accomplishment.

I want to thank the organizers of the Tangerine Tango Quilt Challenge for helping push my sewing boundaries to the edge! Go visit these ladies’ awesome blogs!

   &   Ali @ a.squared.w

And, please check out all the competition entries – there are some fantastic quilts over there!

 

~ Kristina

