Happy weekend, indeed. Mike proposed, and we are engaged! It accidentally involved sewing too, which feels very appropriate (my two loves coincide!).

Friday night was Super Secret Sewing Social, where I decided to work on an improvised mini quilt just for myself, just for fun. I picked a couple fat quarters and got to work highlighting the Dreaming in French line from Art Gallery Fabrics. I started binding around 9 pm and abruptly learned my new rule: never sew when exhausted. I screwed up the binding and was cross-eyed tired.

After a good night’s sleep, I sat down with my seam ripper and started to fix the binding. Keep in mind, I was in my PJ’s, and I had just rolled out of bed. That’s when Mike came in, got down on one knee and proposed.

We went ring shopping a few months ago, and he promised to surprise me with the proposal — he certainly did that!

I feel immensely grateful to be marrying my partner and best friend. Mike is an amazing man.We celebrated after with a special lunch:

And later that day, I finished the mini despite continuing binding issues. It’s also the first quilt I’ve machine bound (I usually hand bind one side), so it’s a bit wonky. But I don’t care because it will always be our Engagement Quilt from now on! The plan is to frame it and put it up on our bedroom wall.

Front:

Back:

~Kristina

PS. I’m linking up for the first time at Sew Modern Monday & trying out Nerd is the Word on Tuesdays. Don’t worry – the nerdy feature is a regular one!!

{Sew} Modern Monday at Canoe Ridge Creations

