This is my very first attempt at a “real” quilt block, and I’m pretty happy with the results so far!

This is a Disappearing 9-Patch, which I learned from Craftsy’s Quilting Quickly class. So far, this is a great class for a beginning quilter. You work at your own pace, and Jenny Doan’s instruction is very clear. Working with pre-cuts eliminates the pesky step of cutting your own fabric, which is nice to skip while learning a new technique.

The downside: working with precuts limits your fabric choices. Though not ideal, I do admit I like that these precuts push me beyond patterns I normally pick. I’m working with Moda’s Urban Cowgirl, and honestly I would never pick this in a normal scenario. Yet, I’m enjoying watching the quilt grow.

Because it’s my first patchwork quilt and because I don’t love the fabric, I’m making a lap-sized quilt. Here is my favorite block – which I like because of the highlight on the rose (I love roses!) and the sashes with plaid, which is probably my favorite pattern in this line:

Next, I am deciding whether to sew sashing in between the blocks. I don’t like the way the four blocks look together, but I suspect I may not like the look because I’m still getting used to the “quilt look,” ie blocks of different patterns flush and a bit dissonant together. Would love your input, if you have thoughts?

I hope to finish the quilt this weekend. In the meantime, I’m trying to keep the pug away from it!!

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

~Kristina

