Tags

Tonight, a piece of my Bernette 330 (circa 1970-1980-something) snapped off under the pressure of screwing on my walking foot. A broken machine is heartbreaking for a number of reasons:

1) It means your sewing has to stop, immediately. Fortunately I’ve sewn (and mailed!) most of my holiday gifts, but I am only a third of the way through a challenging and super secret project for Mike’s gift. An interruption just 5 days before Christmas? Sigh.

2) It means your machine has to go into the shop, ie, you’ll be without a machine for some unknown period of time. The last time my machine got sent in, I didn’t get it back for more than 2 weeks. In this case, it’s particularly sad because I have an entire week off next week — one I wanted to use to sew! Whimper.

3) It means you’re going to be spending some unknown amount of money to fix the machine. In this case, I don’t think the fix is necessarily going to be expensive, but I do know that this machine is so outdated that even Bernina has told me to give up hope finding new parts! Thus, I have very little confidence in fixing the machine at all. Sob.

I’ve just about given up on the idea of spending money to buy a new machine until next year, but investing more money in this old machine is almost out of the question. And NOT sewing entirely is completely off the table.

What would you do?

