Tags

Like a lot of bloggers, I haven’t been writing about what I’m sewing for Christmas. My family and friends read the blog, and I don’t want to ruin the surprise! But I’ve been doing a dry run with every gift to make sure each craft is good enough to give. The actual finished project, the one that will go under the Christmas tree, will be styled differently, with unique fabric and other design changes. So, I figure I can safely share my test-projects with you, some crafty ideas I’ve concocted myself or found online, all simple and cute gifts to make and give at the holidays.

Idea #1: The Clutch

Here’s a project from a tutorial on the Purl Bee. It is so easy and cute, and it’s a very fun project to pick fabrics for! For the test clutch, I ended up using some fabric I had lying around, and it still turned out adorably. I recommend using linen for the exterior, but cotton is fine for the interior. Two fat quarters are just enough for one bag.

The bags I’m making for (unnamed) family and friends include a slight adjustment – I’m using fusible fleece instead of a thin interfacing. I found the bag needs a little more structure, particularly when it’s weighed down by a wallet, cell phone, lipstick…
I’m also going to load up these bags with little lovely smelling, travel-sized goodies, to complete the gift.

Go forth & sew clutches!

