Tags

I taught my first class yesterday, and it was so much fun! A big thank you to my class of 5 excellent students & new sewists! And thank you to Aurora Sisneros, owner at Fabric Bliss, who gave me this opportunity to teach.

I love sharing sewing with new crafters. Sewing is a creative outlet; it’s meditative and calming; it’s a lovely break from the regular work in your week. I could write a book about why I love sewing and what craft in general means for my life; but fortunately there’s one line of Buddhist wisdom that explains why I love to teach:

EVERY MAN BECOMES WHAT HE TEACHES OTHERS TO BE.

– from the Dhammapada, a book of Buddhist wisdom

 

I can’t wait to teach again. My second class is January 8, and it’s already open on the Fabric Bliss calendar, if you’re ready to sign up!

Aurora and I also cooked up a little surprise yesterday, coming up in January 2012!!! Here’s a clue: it involves more teaching! I am so excited about it, and can’t wait to share it with all of you! Stay tuned here and on Facebook — Aurora’s got lots of awesome surprises up her sleeve, and she’s going to tell all in December!

