Tags

,

At Mill Outlet Fabrics yesterday, I added substantially to my stash. I couldn’t help it; their quilting cotton selection is bigger than anything else I’ve seen in Colorado (admittedly I haven’t been to Hancock or Denver Fabric yet. I know, I know, I should go). I particularly loved their kids’ prints, which included old-school illustrations from Eloise, Eric Carle, Beatrix Potter, and the Little Golden Books. I also found some Alexander Henry fabric that I’ve only drooled at online — I bought a couple yards to dive into a project with a new book:

The book isn’t actually “new” per se, but it’s new to me: I Love Patchwork by Rashida Coleman-Hale, who’s work I adore. I am so excited to practice patchwork with these Zakka projects!!

Some of you are probably equally psyched by Zakka. And some of you are probably like, “What the heck is Zakka?”

As defined by Wikipedia:

Zakka (from the Japanese ‘zak-ka’(雑貨)or ‘many things’) is a fashion and design phenomenon that has spread from Japan throughout Asia. The term refers to everything and anything that improves your home, life and appearance.

Rashida’s Zakka includes a little bag, a coaster set, a sewing machine cover and lots more. Part of what I love about her approach is the integration of linen. The Alexander Henry fabric is cotton, but it has a linen-like texture. I’m going to mix in solid linens, probably starting with the coaster or the bag project. There’s something about sewing little patches in basic colors… the thought of it makes me smile!

