I know I can’t be the only one: I’m a big sports fan and a crafter.

So, when I see orange and blue fabric, of course I think about the Denver Broncos. I bought a fat quarter of this Jay McCarroll fabric months ago. And I decided to do something with it today – in honor of my first in-person Broncos game in 8 years.

It’s probably fair to say that it’s also my 8-year anniversary as a Broncos fan, since I came to love them when I moved to Denver. I went to a Broncos v. Browns game in that first year, and ever since I’ve just watched on TV. Anyway, we live a few blocks from the stadium, so Mike made some pre-game Bloody Mary’s while I sewed a little Broncos accessory.

Mike put my Bloody Mary in a sippy cup because I spilled coffee all over myself earlier in the day.

Yes, my sewing little project is a headband. I haven’t yet tired of making headbands; it’s so accessible, satisfying and versatile.

What a perfect combo: sewing, a cocktail and then a Broncos game!

Here it is in use:

How does your crafty hobby intersect with your other interests? Any other football fans out there?

